Radiation Safety Technologist of the Year

Nominees for this award shall be applied radiation safety technologists who were employed within the geographic region covered by the CCHPS during the calendar year for which the award is made. The nominees shall have a minimum of three (3) years’ experience in radiation safety. Criteria include:

  • professional excellence in health physics, and
  • peer recognition of this proficiency.

2019 Radiation Safety Technologist of the Year

Casey Johnson

Casey functions as the primary Lead HPT during high-radiological risk long-length-equipment removal at Tank Farms in the Projects Department. Casey’s leadership is obvious during these evolutions. As a ten year veteran HPT at Tank Farms, Casey has dedicated himself to ALARA and the safety of his fellow worker. He fosters an inclusive environment amongst his fellow HPTs and with other organizations such that the team works together to find new and innovative ways to reduce radiological dose.

A recent pump removal at 241-AW-03 was unique, in that the bottom portion of the approximately 60 –foot pump assembly needed to be “crimped” in order to fit in the disposal box. During the crimping, a tear in the containment sleeving occurred. Casey’s leadership ensured that this tear was immediately repaired by the team, and the pump was packaged with no spread of contamination.

Casey follows his jobs from start to finish, implementing dose saving techniques and lessons learned. His constant presence in the field from early mock-up to field execution ensures that the team uses low dose waiting areas as much as possible.

2018 Mike Murphy

2017 Darrell L. Scott

2016 Thomas Sichler

2012 Joe Wiley

2012 Michael Dittenhauser

2011 Geoff Hall

2011 Daniel Brush

2010 Andrew P. Wegner

2009 Benjamin F. Davis

2008 Scott Stephens

2007 Kurt Lawing

2007 Brian Parsons

2006 Tomas Moreno

2006 Smokey Tefft

2005 Everett Gray, Ray French

2004 C.W. “Chuck” Wildman

2004 Thomas Kimmel

2003 Robin K. Woodford

2002 Jim Crockett

2002 Mark Sims

2001 Henry “Tom” Miller

2001 Ed Pangelinan

2000 Kim Barton

2000 Cindy Belew

1999 Barry Headley

1998 Mark Higbee

1998 Carl Meineke

1997 David L. Merrill

1996 Mitchell Kobierowski

1996 David J. Phipps

1995 Gordon Hendricks

1994 Allan Ostby

1993 Maximo Valdez

1992 Richard Wyer II

1991 Morgan Johnson

1990 Steve Bivins

1989 Deanna Ekstrom

1989 Louis Struder

1987 Steven Landsman

1986 John Harrison

1985 Rob Aldrich

1984 Robert Smith (d)

1983 John Gile

1982 David Beecher

1982 Dan Mackliet

(d) Deceased